# Vending machine locator in Rhode Island for venues

> A host with no state benchmark usually gets a national average. A Rhode Island venue gets two real deals it could drive to before lunch.

- Canonical URL: https://locationsforvending.com/vending-machine-locator-rhode-island-venues/
- Publication: Spare Corner (https://locationsforvending.com/)
- By: Spare Corner Owners Desk
- Edited by: Don Harrison
- Published: 2026-10-07
- Disclaimer: General information, not legal advice. Laws and contracts vary by state and by situation, and they change. For advice about your situation, talk to a licensed attorney.

Rhode Island has no placement on the public record and the best substitute of any empty state: **two bowling alleys within ninety miles**, on different terms. A Connecticut venue agreed **40% of net** and a Massachusetts one **30%** — and both are close enough to drive to.

**At a glance**

| The question | Rhode Island's answer |
|---|---|
| Signed venues on the record | 0 |
| Nearest signed deals | Winsted CT at 40%, Tyngsborough MA at 30% |
| Distance from Providence | about 85 and 70 miles |
| What your building must license | Nothing |
| What covers the machine | The operator's banded registration, from $50 |
| National median share | 40% of net |

## Who calls Rhode Island venues about vending machines?

PinPoint Vending claims every state but Alaska and Hawaii — Rhode Island too — and has 87 signed venues on the open record elsewhere — but none here, so a Rhode Island caller cannot show you a Rhode Island placement. [Nationwide Vending Locators](https://nationwidevendinglocators.com/) covers Rhode Island snack, drink and coffee equipment at a per-location fee payable on installation, with no Rhode Island placement of its own.

Settle the machine type first. A specialty unit on a Rhode Island floor moves less stock at a higher price, pulls attention, wants more space, and pays above a drinks bank. Whoever restocks a Rhode Island machine is its operator rather than the locator who signed you — [how to choose a vending company](https://locationsforvending.com/how-to-choose-vending-company/) handles the operator side, while in Rhode Island as elsewhere [who calls, and what each kind wants](https://locationsforvending.com/vending-machine-locator-by-state-venues/) separates the two kinds.

## Two real comparisons, and which one to use

Most hosts in this series argue from a national median because nothing nearer exists. A Rhode Island venue has two signed agreements inside ninety miles, and they disagree.

| Nearest signed venue | Distance from Providence | Visitors a day | Share |
|---|---|---:|---:|
| Boston, Massachusetts — indoor playground | about 50 miles | Not stated | Not stated |
| Tyngsborough, Massachusetts — bowling alley | about 70 miles | 680 | 30% |
| Winsted, Connecticut — bowling alley | about 85 miles | 210 | 40% |

Lead with **Winsted**. A bowling alley at 210 visitors a day agreed the national median, which is a defensible floor for any Rhode Island venue of ordinary size.

Be ready for **Tyngsborough**, because a well-prepared caller will raise it. It is the busiest venue in the entire 87-placement record at 680 visitors a day — and it agreed 30%, the lowest share in the dataset. The honest answer is that it is the clearest evidence anywhere that a strong venue can under-negotiate, not evidence that strong venues should.

## What the two nearby shares pay a venue

An $8 serving at 40% of net returns a Rhode Island host **$2.48**, and at 30% it returns **$1.86**. A $1.80-a-serving deduction comes out first, so neither figure is a flat share of what a Rhode Island machine charges.

Sixty-two cents a serving separates the Connecticut deal from the Massachusetts one. Over a sixteen-month term that is the single largest number in the agreement. [How the share is calculated](https://locationsforvending.com/vending-machine-locator-by-state-venues/) works a Rhode Island example through, and "net" in a Rhode Island agreement means whatever the clauses in [what to read in a vending service agreement](https://locationsforvending.com/vending-service-agreement-clauses/) say it means.

Twelve of the 87 placements nationally reached 50%, eleven of them pass-through venues — shops, forecourts, malls. If people walk through your Rhode Island building rather than visiting it, the top of the range is reachable.

## The registration question, and why the band matters

The Rhode Island Department of Health registers vending **units in bands** rather than per machine: **$50 for three or fewer**, **$100 for four to ten**, **$120 for eleven or more**, prorated by which of three licensing cycles the application falls in ([Rhode Island Department of Health](https://health.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur1006/files/applications/FoodServiceVending.pdf)).

Two useful consequences for a host. An operator with spare capacity in its band covers your machine for nothing — so "is this registered?" is a cheap question for them to answer well, and an evasive answer is worth noticing. And because the fee is prorated by cycle, the timing of a new registration affects what it costs, which is a detail only an operator who actually files them will know.

Ask which band, which cycle, and who renews — then put it in the agreement, because the machine will be in your building if anyone checks.

## What should a Rhode Island venue settle before signing?

Four things:

1. **The share, against Winsted's 40%** — and against 50% if your building is a pass-through site.
2. **The operator's registration band and renewal**, in writing.
3. **A restocking frequency with a stated consequence**, which on a coastal summer route means naming who clears product that has absorbed moisture — see [when the vending company stops restocking](https://locationsforvending.com/vending-company-not-restocking/). The rest is in [what to settle before you sign](https://locationsforvending.com/vending-machine-locator-by-state-venues/) — the rest of a Rhode Island agreement in order.
4. **A dated removal obligation**, with the cost of clearing a Rhode Island floor stated plainly.

## Frequently asked questions

### What percentage do Rhode Island businesses get from vending machines?

No Rhode Island venue appears in the public record, so there is no state figure. The national median is 40% of net, and the nearest signed deals are a Connecticut bowling alley at 40% and a Massachusetts one at 30%.

### Does a Rhode Island business need a licence to host a vending machine?

No. The Department of Health registers the operator's units in bands — $50 for three or fewer, $100 for four to ten, $120 for eleven or more — and that registration is the operator's.

### What should a Rhode Island venue ask about registration?

Which band the operator holds and which of the three licensing cycles the registration falls in, since the fee is prorated by timing and a band with spare capacity covers a new machine at no extra cost.

### Which nearby deal should a Rhode Island host cite?

The Winsted, Connecticut bowling alley at 40% of net, about 85 miles away. The Massachusetts bowling alley at 30% is the one a caller would rather you heard about.

### How long do vending agreements run in Rhode Island?

Sixteen months is the minimum term on every signed placement in this record nationally. Ask separately what notice ends it and who removes the machine.

## Next step

Open at 40% and name the Winsted, Connecticut bowling alley, because it is 85 miles away, it signed in 2026, and it is the nearest venue of ordinary size in the whole record. Then ask which registration band the operator holds, since a band with spare capacity covers your machine at no cost to anyone.

## Sources

- [Food service vending application, Rhode Island Department of Health](https://health.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur1006/files/applications/FoodServiceVending.pdf)
- [16 CFR Part 437, Business Opportunity Rule (eCFR)](https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-16/chapter-I/subchapter-D/part-437)
- [Nationwide Vending Locators: service, fees and coverage pages, checked October 6, 2026](https://nationwidevendinglocators.com/)
- [PinPoint Vending: open marketplace listings, collected October 5, 2026](https://pinpoint-vending.com/marketplace)
